Board of Directors

Don Kuyek (President)

Don is a long time community activist and local labour lawyer.  During his spare time Don teaches law at Laurentian University.

John Closs (Chair)

John is a sessional lecturer in the Labour Studies Program at Laurentian University, certified general carpenter and active member of local community groups related to workers, education and community services. John retired in 2011 from Cambrian College where he was a Professor in the School of Skills Training.

Josée MacPhee (Treasurer)

A 2014 graduate of the Honours Bachelor of Commerce at Laurentian University, a mom of 4 working full time as a Staff Accountant for Collins Barrow SNT LLP since graduation. When I’m not crunching numbers, I am taking my kids to soccer, lacrosse and dance.

Dawn Graham (Community Member)

Originally from Nova Scotia, Dawn Graham first learned of her rights as a worker in a high school Canadian Law class. Since that time political action, workplace health & safety, and the protection and expansion of worker and human rights have been of deep personal concern.

Moving to Toronto in 1985 Dawn became active in the Labour movement as a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) System Local Council 11 – the Canadian Signals & Communications Union at C N Rail. Dawn has also been a member of the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) Local 1000 – the Power Workers Union at Ontario Hydro; the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU) Local 655, representing faculty at Cambrian College; and the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) Local 634, Sudbury & North Bay, where she served as President from 2007 to 2010. Dawn has also served terms as a Director, as Second Vice-President, and as a Trustee of the Sudbury & District Labour Council. Since 1995 Dawn has been active in the New Democratic Party in the Nickel Belt riding.

Dawn joined SWEAC’s volunteer Board in March of 2015 and is committed to improving the lives and working conditions of people in low-wage and unstable employment.

Nicole Beaulieu (Community Member)

Sudbury born and raised, Nicole Beaulieu is an activist in our community.  She currently sits on several Boards and committees, including the Sudbury Community Legal Clinic, OHCOW’s Local Advisory Committee, the Labour Studies Program at LU Board, and SWEAC, just to name a few. As a humanist feminist Nicole truly believes in fairness and equality for everyone. In her day job as the Director of Labour Community Services for our local United Way / Centraide she always keeps one foot in the labour movement and the other in the United Way movement, to ensure that she can help our community and fight for social justice at the same time.

In her rare spare time, she enjoys being with her family, roller skating, and watching movies.

Donna Campbell (Community Member)

Darlene Kaboni (First Nations Representative)

Darlene has sat on numerous Committees and Boards including the National Women’s Committee and National Human Rights Committee, and is a current active member of OPSEU and their Provincial Aboriginal Circle. Darlene is grounded in union activism and Indigenous culture and feels that maintaining and protecting our jobs are vital.

Wyman Mackinnon (Community Member)

Wyman has spent the past 20 years actively engaging in the Sudbury Labour movement. He has held numerous positions including: President of Cupe 207/4705, Labour/Union Representative for the United Way cabinet, Vice President for the Sudbury Labour Council, and Vice Chair for the Coniston Community Action Network (CAN).

Christopher Richardson (Community Member)

Chris is a 3rd year Sociology major, with a minor in Labour Studies at Laurentian University. As a member of the Sudbury community, he is invested in the rights of workers throughout the city and the North.

If you would like to be considered for a position on the SWEAC Board of Directors

 contact us at 705-470-3323